

Chairman: Ian Liddell-Grainger Administrator: Matthew Gordon PGES Room 2.2 Speaker's House House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

0797 445 1085 Matthew@PGES.org.uk PGES.org.uk

# FORTYTHIRD ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 6:30pm, Tuesday 12<sup>th</sup> July 2022

Committee Room M, PCH

#### Those present:

Chairman: Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Henry Smith MP

Alan Brown MP Alexander Stafford MP

Douglas Chapman MP Lord Truscott
Sir Christopher Chope MP Lord Redesdale
Angus MacNeil MP Lord Whitty

Secretariat: Matthew Gordon

#### 1. WELCOME

Ian Liddell-Grainger MP welcomed attendees to the meeting.

#### 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Teverson
Rt Hon Lord Hunt of Kings Heath OBE Graham Ward
Taiwo Owatemi MP Baroness Walmsley
Lord Ravensdale Alan Whitehead MP

The minutes of the previous AGM held on Tuesday 14<sup>th</sup> July 2021 were approved.

Proposed: Lord Redesdale Seconded: Alexander Stafford MP

#### 3. REPORT FOR 2021-22

The Group Administrator presented the Annual Report.

We note that Lord Oxburgh has retired from the House of Lords, he has been a long serving and stalwart member of PGES.

### 4. ACCOUNTS FOR 2021-22

The accounts for the Group were tabled and accepted.

It was noted that Tamesis Services had deferred part of its fee during the pandemic disruption to ensure that the Group's expenditure matched income and was listed as a liability for the Group. It was also proposed that the Associate Membership Fee be raised to £625 + VAT = £750 pa.

Proposed: Douglas Chapman MP Seconded: Lord Whitty

### 5. ACCOUNTANTS FOR THE YEAR 2021-22

Thanks to Root Accountants for bookkeeping and to Faber Morley for their advice and guidance. Faber Morley were accepted to continue as the auditing accountants.

Proposed: Lord Redesdale Seconded: Douglas Chapman MP

## 6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL FROM THE PARLIAMENTARY MEMBERSHIP FOR 2022-23

## OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL FROM THE PARLIAMENTARY MEMBERSHIP FOR 2021-22

Chairman Ian Liddell-Grainger MP

Officers Alan Brown MP

Douglas Chapman MP Lord Duncan of Springbank

Julie Elliott MP

Rt Hon Lord Hunt of Kings Heath OBE

Lord Ravensdale Lord Redesdale Jim Shannon MP Lord Teverson Alex Stafford MP Lord Whitty

Executive Council Sir Christopher Chope OBE MP

Taiwo Owatemi MP

Proposed: Douglas Chapman MP Seconded: Lord Redesdale

## 7. ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL FROM THE ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2022-23

### MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL FROM THE ASSOCIATE MEMBERSHIP FOR 2021-22

Steven Edwards Milford Haven Port Authority

Martin Fry ESTA

lan Graves Peak Gen Top Co Ltd

Dr Simon Harrison Institution of Engineering & Technology

Dr Angela Needle Cadent Gas

Paul Needley Enertek International

Kathryn Porter Watt-Logic

Dr Barbara Vest OBE

Simon Virley CB KPMG

**Graham Ward CBE** 

Janet Wood New Power Report

Proposed: Alan Brown MP Seconded: Lord Redesdale

## 8. AOB

Confirmation that it is proposed that Tamesis Services continue to provide the Secretariat for the Group until the next election.

Proposed: Lord Redesdale Seconded: Alan Brown MP

Following the successful adoption of Zoom for remote access, we are looking at ways to integrate this as Face to Face meeting resume. We plan to hold our Annual House of Lords Dinner on  $25^{th}$  October 2022, sponsored by Alfa Energy. (Subsequently postponed to 21st February 2023) The next AGM is scheduled for Tuesday  $11^{th}$  July 2023 at 6.30pm.

There being no further business, the Chairman declared the meeting closed at 6:50pm.